WORKSHOP "Future of ultrashort pulses"

  • Datum: 18.09.2015
  • Uhrzeit: 09:00 - 18:00
  • Workshop: Liste der Sprecher unter "mehr Informationen" / click on "more" to find list of speakers
  • Raum: Herbert Walther Lecture Hall
  • Gastgeber: MPQ, Attosecond Physics Division
The availability of waveform-controlled, intense, few cycle laser fields has radically expanded the ability of scientists to peer into the dynamics of atoms and solids on few-femtosecond or even attosecond time scales. This research in the field of attosecond science has hinted at the potential for new discoveries that may be unlocked by new developments in laser science to confine more and more energy into smaller and smaller packages to be precisely delieved to the systems under study.

Additionally, control over the exact evolution of the laser's electric and magnetic fields allows for unprecedented flexibility in the manipulation of the dynamics as they unfold. The question now is: where do we go from here? What can be done to continue the advancements in pulse generation that have made these advancements possible, and what kinds of developments are necessarily to realize the goals of the next generation of researchers in the field?
The goal of this series of workshops is to bring together the leaders and young researchers in the ultrafast and attosecond communities to share our progress and goals towards the next generation of sources and their application to fundamental science. How will the pioneering experiments in the synthesis of multi-octave light transients be continued and expanded? How can the new generation of broadband parametric amplifiers with unprecedented combinations of average and peak power contribute, and what are the technical challenges in the way? We hope to bring together the community to discuss the work to be done, and to share our progress as it unfolds with a trilogy of annual workshops.We hope that the growing community of researchers who share a passion for exploring the limits of light-matter interaction will join us in sharing our achievements and challenges in the coming years!

Prof. Dr. Jens Biegert, ICFO, Barcelona, Spain
Dr. Hanieh Fattahi , MPQ, Attosecond Physics Division
Dr. Eleftherios Goulielmakis, MPQ, Attosecond Physics Division
Matthias Hohenleutner, Universität Regensburg
Dr. Thomas Metzger, TRUMPF Scientific Lasers (TSL), Munich
Dr. Oliver D. Muecke, Center for Free-Electron laser Science (CFEL), Hamburg
Prof. Dr. John Tisch , Blackett Laboratory, Imperial College, London
Dr. Caterina Vozzi, Institute for Photonics and Nanotechnologies, Milan, Italy

Zur Redakteursansicht