Zaijun Chen receives Rao Prize

Zaijun Chen is awarded the Rao Prize for the best talk by a graduate student at the 2018 International Symposium on Molecular Spectroscopy

July 26, 2018


Zaijun Chen was born in Guanduong (China). He graduated in optical engineering at Jinan University (China) and accomplished his master thesis at the University of Illinois (Champaign-Urbana, USA). During his studies, he has received several awards and scholarships, such as the 2014 Chinese National Scholarship for Outstanding Graduate Students. Since 2015, he is working toward his doctoral degree in the group of Dr. Nathalie Picqué within the Laser Spectroscopy Division at the Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics.

Here, he has developed groundbreaking techniques that enhance and broaden the scope of broadband molecular spectroscopy with laser spectroscopy. He has implemented a new experimental scheme that significantly improves the precision, sensitivity and versatility of dual-comb spectroscopy, a comb-enabled technique that currently attracts the interest of dozens of research groups worldwide. At the 73rd meeting of the International Symposium on Molecular Spectroscopy in Champaign-Urbana (18 to 22 June 2018), he has presented a remarkable talk highlighting his first results toward the extension of his technique to the mid-infrared region of the fingerprints of molecules.

The International Symposium on Molecular Spectroscopy is a conference that gathers every year more than 500 scientists working in the field of high-resolution molecular spectroscopy. The Rao Prize for the best student talks was created in 1991 by a group of spectroscopists who, as graduate students, benefitted from the emphasis on graduate student participation, which has been a unique characteristic of the Symposium. Every year, a panel of judges selects the three best student talks, among more than a hundred, and recognizes them with the Rao Prize. This year, Zaijun Chen, with his talk “Doppler-limited broadband dual-comb spectroscopy at 3 µm”, is one of the three winners. The award will be presented to Zaijun Chen during the plenary session of the 74th meeting of the International Symposium on Molecular Spectroscopy, from June 17 to June 21, 2019.

Other Interesting Articles

Go to Editor View