Chronology of Research Groups

Current Research Groups

In January 2008Dr. Masaki Hori started setting up the research group for Antimatter Spectroscopy,which is affiliated with the Laser Spectroscopy emeritus group of Prof. Theodor W. Hänsch. more
In November 2015Prof. Dr. Norbert Schuch took up a W2 professorship in the Theory division of Prof. Ignacio Cirac and founded the research group for the Entanglement of Complex Quantum Systems. more

Dr. Christian Groß - RYD-QMB

In June 2016Dr. Christian Groß, a researcher in the Quantum Many-Body Systems division of Prof. Immanuel Bloch, launched the Rydberg-dressed Quantum Many-Body Systems group with the help of an ERC Starting Grant.

Dr. Andreas Reiserer - QUANTUM NETWORKS

Since August 2016Dr. Andreas Reiserer has been head of the Quantum Networks group, an Otto Hahn research group which is affiliated with the Quantum Dynamics division of Prof. Gerhard Rempe.


Former Research Groups

In 2004, both the Attosecond Driver Laser group, headed by Dr. Andrius Baltuska, and the Quantum Simulations with Trapped Ions group headed by Dr. Tobias Schätz were established at the institute. In 2006, Dr. Baltuska took up an appointment at the TU Wien, while at the end of 2011, Dr. Schätz accepted a position at the University of Freiburg.

Dr. Tobias Kippenberg was head of the Laboratory of Photonics at the MPQ from 2005 until his appointment at the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne in 2010.

In July 2006, Dr. Reinhard Kienberger launched the Attosecond Dynamics research group. Since September 2009, he has been a professor at the Technische Universität München (TUM).

The Attosecond Imaging research group of Dr. Matthias Kling joined the institute in January 2007; since June 2013, he has held a W2 professorship at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU).

In April 2008, Dr. Peter Hommelhoff launched the Ultrafast Quantum Optics group. In September 2012, he took up an appointment as a W3 professor at the Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg.

Dr. Randolf Pohl started setting up his ERC-funded Muonic Atoms group at the end of 2011. In 2016, Dr. Pohl accepted an appointment at the Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz.

In the same year Dr. Eleftherios Goulielmakis startet with his research groupAttoelectronics. The group was funded by the European Research Council (ERC) and was part of the Laboratory of Attosecond Physics, directed by Prof. Ferenc Krausz. Near the end of 2018 dr. Goulielmakis left the Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics to follow a call to the University of Rostock.

Go to Editor View