Members of the Scientific Advisory Board

Members of the Scientific Advisory Board

To ensure the high quality of scientific research in the long term perspective, all institutes of the Max Planck Society are regularly reviewed by independent advisory boards. The members of the advisory board, experts from leading research institutions and universities worldwide, are selected by the President of the Max Planck Society on the basis of proposals made by the institute. The advisory board is appointed for a maximum term of six years.

(Picture: The members of the Scientific Advisory Board at their last meeting in October 2022 in front of the MPQ - f.l.t.r. Prof. Salomon (Rapporteur, only in 2022), Prof. Polzik, Prof. Strickland, Prof. Sauerbrey (Rapporteur, only in 2022), Prof. Ferlaino, Prof. Aspelmeyer, Prof. Barth, Prof. Davidson, Prof. Monroe,  Prof. Browaeys, Prof. Vuletić, Prof. Vučković)

Prof. Dr. Markus Aspelmeyer

University of Vienna
Faculty of Physics
Quantum optics, quantum anophysics and quantum information
Vienna, Austria

Prof. Dr. Andreas Barth

University of Stockholm
Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics
Stockholm, Sweden

Prof. Dr. Antoine Browaeys

Laboratoire Charles Fabry
Institut d’Optique Graduate School
Palaiseu Cedex, France

Prof. Dr. Harry Buhrman

Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica (CWI)
Science Park 123
Amsterdam, Netherlands

Prof. Dr. Nir Davidson

The Weizmann Institute of Science
Edna and K.B. Weissman Building of Physical Sciences
Rehovot, Israel

Prof. Dr. Francesca Ferlaino

University of Innsbruck
Innsbruck Physics - Research Center

Prof. Dr. Stephen R. Leone

University of California
Department of Chemistry
Berkeley, USA

Prof. Dr. Pierre Meystre

University of Arizona
Regents' Professor of Physics and Optical Sciences Emeritus
Tucson, USA

Prof. Dr. Christopher Monroe

University of Maryland
Department of Physics
College Park, USA

Prof. Dr. Eugene Simon Polzik

Københavns Universitet
Niels Bohr Institute
Copenhagen, Denmark

Prof. Dr. John P. Preskill

California Institute of Technology
Division of Physics, Mathematics and Astronomy
Pasadena, USA

Prof. Dr. Donna Strickland

University of Waterloo
Faculty of Science
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Waterloo, Canada

Prof. Dr. Vladan Vuletić

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Department of Physics
Cambridge, USA

Go to Editor View