Awards and Honours 2021

List is filtered with:

reset filter
Immanuel Bloch receives the Bavarian Maximilian Order

The Maximilian Order for Science and Art is the highest distinction in Bavaria for outstanding contributions in these two disciplines. Immanuel Bloch receives the medal for his pioneering works in quantum physics with which he has opened up a new and interdisciplinary field of research at the crossing of quantum optics, quantum information processing and solid-state physics: the exploration of quantum many body systems.  more

Falling Walls Award for Ignacio Cirac

Professor Ignacio Cirac, head of the Theory Group at the Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics, is one of ten winners in the Physical Sciences category of this year's Falling Walls Award. The Falling Walls Foundation jury was impressed by the outstanding quality and relevance of Ignacio Cirac's research. more

Fabian Kugler receives the Otto-Hahn Medal

Fabian Kugler, former doctoral student in the MPQ Theory Division, receives the Otto-Hahn Medal of the Max Planck Society. The award was established in 1978 and honours up to 30 young scientists per year for outstanding doctoral research. more

The MPQ congratulates Monika Aidelsburger on winning the Alfried Krupp Award

Monika Aidelsburger, professor for Experimental Physics at LMU Munich, wins the Alfried Krupp Prize. The research prize is awarded to young researchers who have been appointed to their first professorship. The prize money, worth 1 million euros, aims to provide maximum research freedom and flexibility. more

Nathalie Nagl is the "Female Physicist of the Week”

In the 26th calendar week and for a second time in 2021, yet another MPQ physicist has been named “female physicist of the week”: MPQ congratulates Nathalie Nagl, postdoctoral student in the Attosecond division. more

Johannes Knörzer wins the MCQST PhD Award 2020

MPQ congratulates Johannes Knörzer on winning the MCQST PhD Award 2020. The annual prize honours the two best PhD theses from the Munich Center of Quantum Science and Technology (MCQST) community. The award aims to encourage young researchers to pursue a career in science. more

MPQ congratulates Philip Walther on winning the Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Preis

The award honours internationally renowned scientists from abroad and aims to foster the exchange between Germany and the country of the awardee. From the 22nd of June 2021, Professor Philipp Walther will be a guest scientist at MPQ where he will be working closely with the Theory Division of Ignacio Cirac. more

Show more
Go to Editor View