Max Planck Institute of
Quantum Optics

P.O.Box 13 27
D-85741 Garching, Germany

Street address:
Hans-Kopfermann-Str. 1
D-85748 Garching, Germany

Phone: + 49 (89) 3 29 05 - 0
Fax:    + 49 (89) 3 29 05 - 200

Contact Person

Dr. Olivia Meyer-Streng
Head of Press & Public Relations
Phone:+49 89 3 29 05 - 213

Scientific Awards

List is filtered with:

reset filter
Teaser image vertical 1496143898

Prof. Ignacio Cirac is elected member of the Nationale Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina

May 30, 2017
The Board of the “Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina – Nationale Akademie der Wissenschaften” has elected Professor Ignacio Cirac, Director at the Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics in Garching and Head of the Theory Division, a member in recognition of his “scientific achievements and personality”. Professor Ignacio Cirac is a worldwide renowned physicist in the field of quantum physics and quantum information theory. [more]
Teaser image vertical 1488374562

Dr. Hanieh Fattahi on Minerva Fast Track Programme

March 01, 2017
Dr. Hanieh Fattahi, a young physicist at the Laboratory for Attosecond Physics (LAP) at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität Munich and the Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics, has been chosen for the Max Planck Society’s Minerva Fast Track Programme. [more]
Teaser image vertical 1487939484

Dr. Christian Groß receives Heinz Maier-Leibnitz-Preis

February 24, 2017
Dr. Christian Groß, a young research scientist working in the Quantum Many-Body Systems Division of Professor Immanuel Bloch at the Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics (Garching near Munich), has been selected by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft DFG as one of the recipients of the Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize 2017. [more]
Img 01 teaser 1486631817

Professor David Huse elected MPQ „Distinguished Scholar“

February 09, 2017
The Board of Directors of the Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics has elected the theoretical physicist Prof. David A. Huse from Princeton University (USA, Princeton Institute for the Science and Technology of Materials) an MPQ Distinguished Scholar. [more]
Teaser image vertical 1483516882

Jordi Tura receives “PhD Thesis Award” from ICFO - The Institute of Photonic Sciences

January 04, 2017
ICFO - The Institute of Photonic Sciences (Barcelona, Spain) has selected Jordi Tura, a young postdoctoral fellow in the Theory Division of Professor Ignacio Cirac at the Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics, for the PhD Thesis Award 2015 “in recognition of the exceptional thesis: Characterizing Entanglement and Quantum Correlations Constrained by Symmetry.” [more]
Teaser image vertical 1475583839

Professor Ignacio Cirac receives the Honorary Doctorate from the Universidad Europea de Madrid

October 04, 2016
At the opening of the academic year, the Universidad Europea de Madrid awarded the Honorary Doctorate to Professor Ignacio Cirac on 22 September 2016. [more]
Image 1470985967

Prof. Reinhard Kienberger gets EPS Prize for Research in Laser Science and Applications

August 12, 2016
The Austrian scientist Professor Dr. Reinhard Kienberger, Chair of Laser and X-Ray Physics at the Technische Universität München and Max Planck Fellow at MPQ, will receive the “2016 Prize for Research in Laser Science and Applications” from the European Physical Society (EPS). [more]
Seidel marcus zuschn teaser 1465455924

Tingye Li Innovation Prize awarded to Marcus Seidel

June 09, 2016
Marcus Seidel, who joined the group of Prof. Ferenc Krausz in 2012, has been selected as the winner of the Tingye Li Innovation Prize at the Conference on Lasers and Electro-Optics (CLEO 2016). [more]
loading content