PRESS RELEASE

The Royal Photographic Society Awards 2006

The prestigious Royal Photographic Society Awards, recognising individuals' achievements and contributions to the art and science of photography, takes place on the evening of Thursday 5 October. The venue is the Royal Institute of British Architects, Portland Place, London W1.

The Society's Centenary Medal goes to veteran Magnum photographer Susan Meiselas. Professor Ferenc Krausz of the Max-Planck Institute of Quantum Optics in Germany receives the Progress Medal for his contributions to femtosecond and attosecond physics applied to imaging the wave nature of light for the first time. Honorary Fellowships are awarded to René Burri, Brian Griffin, Peter Marlow, Steve Pyke MBE, Yang Shaoming and Tom Stoddart. Stephen Gill, (2004 winner of the RPS/John Kobal book award) receives the Vic Odden Award. Twice Oscar nominated John Mathieson, receives The Society's Lumière Award for major achievement in British cinematography, video or animation. The Terence Donovan Award goes to Jason Bell.

The winner of this year's Joan Wakelin Bursary, in association with The Guardian, will be announced at the ceremony and the winning photo-essay published next Spring in the Guardian and RPS Journal.

The 2006 RPS Awards ceremony will be attended by many respected figures from the world of photography and the media and will be hosted by RPS President Professor Ralph Jacobson ASIS Hon FRPS, and Professor Raymond Clark OBE ASIS Hon FRPS.

For further information, please contact Jo Macdonald at 01225 325721 or at jo@rps.org

ENDS July 2006

Note to editors

Full list of winners on following sheet

The Royal Photographic Society AWARD RECIPIENTS, 2006

AWARD	NOMINEE
CENTENARY MEDAL and Honorary Fellowship	Susan Meiselas
PROGRESS MEDAL and Honorary Fellowship	Professor Ferenc Krausz
FENTON MEDAL and Honorary Life Membership	Andy Golding Professor Mark Haworth-Booth Hon FRPS Alan Millward FRPS Tony Troman ARPS
HONORARY FELLOWSHIPS	René Burri Brian Griffin Peter Marlow Steve Pyke MBE Yang Shaoming Tom Stoddart
RPS MEMBER'S AWARD and Honorary Life Membership	Matti Selänne ARPS
DAVIES MEDAL	Professor Lindsay MacDonald
VIC ODDEN AWARD	Stephen Gill
SAXBY AWARD	Steve McGrew
LUMIÈRE AWARD	John Mathieson
J DUDLEY JOHNSTON AWARD (Curatorship) (Photohistory)	Martin Harrison Gerhard Steidl
TERENCE DONOVAN AWARD	Jason Bell
HOOD MEDAL	Ron Smith
COLIN FORD AWARD	Dr Jane Fletcher